The IT market is changing and evolving. We noticed this when we looked at the most recent and popular certifications. The Scrum Master certification is no different. Before choosing a certification, you should consider your personal and professional goals. If you are looking for a certification to become a Scrum Master or become a Scrum Developer, be aware of the following criteria:

What certifications are possible for a Scrum Master?

The Scrum Master’s role is to ensure that the development team stays focused and productive. For this, it is important that the Scrum Master has certifications that enable him to lead a team of Scrum Developers. The best certifications for a Scrum Master are:

1 – Certified Scrum Master (CSM)

This is the most popular Scrum Master certification offered by the Scrum Alliance. To become a CSM, you need to attend a 2-day course, followed by an online assessment.

The Certified ScrumMaster (CSM) credential is becoming more and more important in the scrum community.

Here are 4 reasons:

1.1 – The credential shows that the holder has completed an educational program that meets the certification body’s specific standards.

1.2 – It demonstrates to employers that the CSM has a deep understanding of scrum and can lead teams using the scrum methodology.

1.3 – The certification provides individuals with skills they can immediately use in a work situation, whether they are working alone or in a team.

1.4 – The certification helps individuals network with others who share their interests and expertise in the scrum community, which can lead to opportunities for further education and career growth.

2 – Professional Scrum Master (PSM) certification

The Professional Scrum Master (PSM) Certification is a professional certification for those who act as Scrum Masters in software development projects using the Scrum framework. It’s surely one of the best certifications for a Scrum Master

Scrum is an agile project management method that focuses on delivering incremental, ongoing value to the customer through an iterative cycle of planning, executing, and reviewing work.

The certification PSM is awarded by It’s a not-for-profit organization that promotes the use of Scrum and other agile practices.

To become certified, candidates must undergo a rigorous training and assessment process. It includes attending an official training course and taking a certification exam.

It is considered one of the most difficult to obtain.

To become a PSM, you need to pass a 90-minute exam with an 80% accuracy.

The PSM certification is internationally recognized as a quality standard for those who serve as Scrum Masters. And it is valued by companies of all sizes and industries. It demonstrates the professional’s ability to understand and apply Scrum concepts and practices effectively. Also it shows the professional can lead and support software development teams in using Scrum.

3 – Certified Scrum Product Owner (CSPO)

The Scrum Alliance® Certified Scrum Product Owner (CSPO) credential will validate your experience in Scrum, an agile framework that enables collaborative cross-functional teams to deliver projects in incremental chunks.

The course aims to help you achieve certification on your first attempt.

If you are interested in pursuing a career as a Scrum Master, then you should consider the Certified Scrum Product Owner (CSPO) certification.

Among the best certifications for a Scrum Master, this certification has been increasingly recognized and sought after as a way to acquire the knowledge and skills needed to lead a software development team.

CSPO is the most comprehensive certification for those intending to work in the field of Agile Project Management.

It encompasses all of the Scrum principles and best practices.

Also, it also has many benefits that other certifications do not, such as an increase in your confidence, professional leadership skills and the advantage of knowing better the job market and opportunities.

4 – Certified Scrum Professional (CSP)

The Certified Scrum Professional (CSP) credential is an internationally recognized certification that validates the knowledge and experience of scrum masters.

The CSP credential was created in 2009 by the Scrum Alliance. At that time, the alliance realized that there was a need for a more formal way of validating the skills and knowledge of scrum masters.

The CSP credential has already been adopted by many organizations including Google, Amazon, Microsoft and Facebook.

The CSP exam is challenging and covers a wide range of scrum-related topics. Once you pass the exam, you can use the CSP designation on your resume or certificate of completion.

5 – SAFe Scrum Master (SSM)

As a SAFe Scrum Master (SSM), you need to have the right skills to succeed. You must be able to empower and help your team members become the best they can be. As an SSM, you need to understand and communicate the project objectives and how this will improve the overall process. You also need to stay organized and manage resources effectively.

After taking the course, you will know how to:

  • Train and lead an Agile team
  • Facilitate agile events like iteration planning, standups, and retrospectives
  • Help teams plan and complete their work

You will also learn the principles of servant leadership, which are crucial to key SAFe team roles.

These skills will enable you to develop high performing, engaged and continuously improving teams within your own organization.

6 – Professional Scrum Product Owner I (PSPO I)

Professional Scrum Product Owner™ (PSPO) is a hands-on, activity-based course where students explore Professional Scrum and develop an understanding of the critical role the Product Owner plays on the Scrum Team.

There are many myths and misconceptions about the role of the Product Owner. The Product Owner’s responsibilities, however, go far beyond managing the Product Backlog and writing User Stories. The Product Owner is instrumental in bridging the gap between business strategy and product execution in order to help the Scrum Team create valuable products.

What is the best certificate for a Scrum Developer?

What are the best certifications for a Scrum Master?

The Scrum developer handles converting the product stories into working code. They are often thought of as the “engineers” of the Scrum team. The main certifications for Developer Scrum are:

Professional Scrum Developer (PSD) certification

PSD is a certification offered by and is one of the most difficult to get. To become a PSD, you need to pass a 90-minute exam with an 80% accuracy.

Certified Scrum Developer (CSD) certification

CSD is a certification offered by the Scrum Alliance. To become a CSD, you need to attend a 2-day course, followed by an online assessment.

Best Certifications for a Scrum Master: Conclusion

Scrum certifications are important, but they are not everything. It is important that you consider your personal and professional goals before choosing a certification.

If you are looking for a certification to become a Scrum Master or a Scrum Developer, be aware of the criteria listed above.